WhatsApp has added a new feature called “View Once” to its app where users can share disappearing photos and videos which can be visible only once. Earlier on Tuesday, the feature came out only for iOS users of the messaging app in India and without any further delay today on Wednesday the famous social media app rolled out the ‘View Once’ feature for other users as well.
This new WhatsApp feature lets its users share photos and videos under ‘View Once’, where the shared media will disappear after the recipient views the media once. However, the recipient can take a screenshot or can screen record the media and there will be no alert for the sender regarding the same.
Earlier we spotted Whatsapp testing this feature with the Beta users of the app and after the positive reviews, the company received from the users the ‘View Once’ feature is finally out for global use.
The ‘View Once’ feature primarily came out in the WhatsApp iOS version 2.21.150 in the country but now we can glimpse it in the Android version of the app as well. To enable this feature, the user while sharing an image or video with their contacts must tap on the (1) icon next to the caption bar. The media after being shared with this mode will disappear from the chats when the recipient exits the chat box after viewing it, moreover, the media will disappear automatically if the recipient does not open the media before 14 days from when it was sent.
WhatsApp moreover informed that the media sent under View Once can only be viewed once and will disappear thereafter, however, the person on the other side can take a screenshot of the image or can screen record the video sent via this mode and no alert will be sent to the sender if the recipient does so. Users must use this feature wisely and must not share any kind of personal media. Users must send media via this mode to only trusted individuals in their contacts. The app is ready to be used, update the app to the newest version to enjoy this new feature.