Google Maps for iOS gets dark mode, widget search along with live location sharing via iMessage

Google Maps has rolled out three new features for the iOS users of the app. Google has started putting up significant efforts against its rival Apple and to compete with its Maps App, Google has made some considerable changes in its Google Maps for iOS users. The new features are rolled out for utilization starting today and in this very month, every iOS user will be able to use them. The set of features rolled out recently by Google Maps includes the availability of dark mode of the app, Google Map search widget and the option to share the live location using the iMessage app. Continue with the blog to know about these features in detail. 

1. Dark Mode:

Dark mode has finally arrived for the iOS version of Google Maps. Enabling this mode will help you save battery life, will not hurt your eyes in a darker environment and if you like dark mode then go to settings and enable the dark mode to enjoy it in Google Maps as well. 

2. Widget search:

Google also introduced a new set of widgets that can be added to the home page and includes options that are requested by the user such as home, work, gas stations and restaurants. In addition to these widgets, Google Maps will now be providing information about traffic on the home page. To add this widget app to your home page, long tap the apps to make them keen to be positioned, then take Google Maps to the home screen, select the option for the widgets and there you go, all the traffic-related information of your vicinity will be there.

3. Live location sharing via message app:

Google also introduced a new feature of sharing live locations with friends or contacts without switching the tabs or leaving the conversation via the iMessage app. There is a Google Maps icon present in the iMessage app, tap on the icon to share your live location with your friends and the location will be shared by default for the next one hour. No need to open the location tab to share the location, the location can be shared for up to 3 days and you can stop it anytime. 

Saloni Sharma

Learning and doing the stuff I like!

      Tech Aedgar
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0